Redskins training staff wins Staff of the Year Award

Ben Krimmel
March 23, 2019 - 10:30 pm
Trainers for the Washington Redskins won the Ed Block Training Staff of the Year Award.

Jim Brown-USA TODAY Sports


The Washington Redskins training staff is winning off the field.

The staff was honored with the Ed Block Training Staff of the Year Award Saturday night at the annual Ed Block Courage Awards.

Each year the members of the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society honor one NFL athletic training staff "for their distinguished service to their club, community, and athletic training profession," per the PFATS' website. And this year the staff of the Redskins, head athletic trainer Larry Hess, assistants Elliott Jermyn, Doug Quon, and Mark McCracken, won the honors.

The Redskins had a trying year in the injury department in 2018. Including the broken legs suffered by quarterbacks Alex Smith and Colt McCoy, Washington placed 24 players on injured reserve, surpassing their total from an injury-plagued 2017 season.

And for their efforts, the Redskins' staff was honored at the 41st Ed Block Courage Award Foundation Gala Saturday in Baltimore.

The foundation is dedicated to supporting the wellbeing of abused, neglected, and at-risk children throughout their Courage House National Support Network for Kids and through a partnership with the NFL, they raise awareness and funds for their programs and initiatives, according to the group's website.

Running back Chris Thompson was the Redskins nominee for the player award, but it was Jaguars full back Tommy Bohanon and Chiefs defensive end Dee Ford who took home the honors.

Follow Ben Krimmel and 106.7 The Fan on Twitter.