Top 10 Postseason Pitchers of the 2010s

December 26, 2019 - 9:11 am

By just about any metric - WAR, ERA, FIP, Awards - Los Angeles Dodgers LHP Clayton Kershaw was the most dominant regular season pitcher of the 2010s. But while Kershaw won three National League Cy Young Awards and five ERA titles in the 2010s, the future Hall of Famer had legitimate and consistent struggles in the postseason.

In 143 postseason innings in the 2010s, Kershaw posted a 4.28 ERA. For reference, Kershaw's career regular season ERA is 2.44, the 37th best mark in baseball history. After blowing a lead in Game 5 of the 2019 NLDS - which the Dodgers would go on to lose to the eventual World Series Champion Washington Nationals - Kershaw admitted that narratives about his postseason struggles are true "right now."

Given the struggles of Kershaw in the postseason in the 2010s, it left a void for other pitchers to seize the throne as the best postseason arms of the decade. Here are the 10 best postseason pitchers of the 2010s: